'Bad Teachers’ enjoy brilliant Challenge treble

Wednesday 26 June, 2019
Photos: Bob Gloyn
The third CAMS Club Challenge Australia for 2019 has been run and won with the Tarmac JDP Association of SA’s ‘Bad Teachers’ taking out the South Australian title for 2019.
With 16 teams taking on the multi-club state wide event, crews raced against the clock to post the closest time to the standing record with each driver’s best run time going towards a total team score.
Behind the wheel of the popular Circuit Excels, the 'Bad Teachers’ three-man team, led by Danny Shaw, were too good for the others as they finished the day with an accumulated total of 102.83 per cent.

Shaw’s best time came in his first run of the day, while teammates Danny Maul and Nathan Green recorded their runs on the fourth and fifth – securing an incredible third consecutive title in the process.


In second place on 106.14 per cent was the first of the Sports Car Drivers South Australia’s two teams, with four of the five-driver team notably positing their best times on their final runs of the day.
Following the solid weekend out, the team’s Angus Mitchell was thrilled with the result, hoping to come back bigger and better in the coming years.
“Our members were extremely honoured to compete in this event, not to mention to come second,” Mitchell said.
“It was a bit of a surprise as many of our team performed their best runs on the last run of the event band we will be definitely back next year with a bit more practice.

“I personally hadn’t driven the car for two years and I only had just finished putting the car back together after a massive engine rebuild literally the night before at 6.00pm.”

The battle for the third was a closer affair with 'Scout Motorsport Club SA Senior' pipping 'Drifting SA' throughout the final stages as two of the team’s five drivers in Ryan Size and Adrian Czyzewski posted their best times on their penultimate runs of the day.
The final score for 'Scout Motorsport Club SA Senior' ended up being 110.41 per cent, only 0.47 per cent better than Drifting SA, while #teamBRZ rounded out the top five after falling just 0.44 per cent behind.

All podium finishers have declared they will use their cash prizes to invest back into their clubs with the Tarmac JDP Association and Scout Motorsport Club SA use their winnings to support their junior programs, while the Sporting Car Club of SA will put their money towards a track day or sprint event next year at The Bend Motorsport Park.


The event’s most improved driver came in the form of 'Scout Motorsport Junior’s' Grace Little who shaved off 46 seconds from her first time of the day.
The next round of the CAMS Club Challenge Australia will be in Victoria at Bryant Park on 22 September. 

The standings 

1) 102.83% Tarmac JDP Association of SA
2) 106.14% Sports Car Drivers South Australia Team 1
3) 110.44% Scout Motorsport Club SA Senior
4) 110.91% Drifting SA
5) 111.75% #teamBRZ
6) 112.22% Hot Bricks Black 
7) 113.67% Team MGEC
8) 114.49% Sports Car Drivers South Australia Team 2
9) 114.71% WRXSA
10) 115.15% Walky Dust Devils
11) 115.35% #team86
12) 118.13% Underpowered Heroes
13) 120.68% Team MG
14) 123% Touge Alliance Titans 
15) 130.17% Hot Bricks Blue
16) 135.94% Scout Motorsport Club SA Junior